Can I get a witness Wednesday?! – Sara Geer

Before coming to CrossFit North Arlington I did the whole gym thing… Treadmills, spin class, and weight machines and all of those did absolutely nothing for me. I went to the gym almost every day and saw absolutely no results. I had an athletic background and thought I was doing all that I needed to get back into the same shape I had been in just 5-6 years ago. Oh boy was I wrong….
When I came in for my first class at XFNA I didn’t really know what to expect. My sister belongs to a box in Florida so I knew it was supposed to be hard, but I had worked out and played sports my entire life… It shouldn’t be that hard, right? WRONG!! I barely completed the workout and was sorer than I had ever been in my life. I was using every handicapped toilet I could find access to and stood up all the time because well, sitting was really that hard!! CrossFit was difficult. It was challenging. And therefore, I wanted more!!! I wasn’t going to let this defeat me… I was hooked!!!

That first day was October 17, 2011. I got rid of my LA Fitness membership and haven’t looked back since. When I started at XFNA I weighed almost 170 lbs. (at 5’3”), could barely lift the 45 lb. bar, used the black band for pull-ups, and pretty much walked on every run. Personally, I was embarrassed. With my background I should have and could have been better than the person/athlete I had become.
Well, it has been about 10 months now and with the support of everyone (coaches and athletes alike) at CrossFit North Arlington I am a different/better person. I am more confident in my abilities at the gym and confident in myself outside the gym. I am healthier, stronger and lighter than I ever was before. I went from 170 lbs to 140, a size 12 to a size 4, and with a healthier diet I just feel better all the time.

I’ve recently gotten my dead lift up to 245 lbs and am excited to shoot for 300 sometime in the hopefully not-so-distant future.

My newly found level of strength amazes me as well. I annoy my husband by staring at my new muscles in the mirror and saying “feel these guns” all of the time.
This testimony cannot express the gratitude and appreciation I have for CrossFit North Arlington. The coaches have supported me and my goals more than I could have ever asked. While at the gym, I am constantly pushed to be the best version of myself possible. The goals I have aspired to and achieved are incredible.

I will always recommend XFNA to prospecting members. If you ever find yourself questioning whether or not to take on the CrossFit adventure… Stop questioning and DO IT! Like I said before… It is hard, it is challenging, you may throw up but you will certainly have NO REGRETS.

2 Responses to “Can I get a witness Wednesday?! – Sara Geer”

  1. Sara, you blow my mind all the time. I wanna be just like you when my muscles grow up! Proud to WOD with you.

Leave a Reply

