Can I get a witness Wednesday?! – Andrew Lopez

“…speak of the red haired devil and she shall appear…” – Andrew Lopez

When I decided to join the Army I knew something was going to have to change. I spent my entire day in front of the TV… I would wake up, turn on Fallout, Skyrim, or Mass Effect, park my ass in a seat and stay there until 3 or 4 in the morning and then wake up and do it again and again ad nauseam.

I would turn on Modern Warfare and see the Rangers and the Spec ops guys performing feats of strength and endurance.

20120830-092630.jpg I knew that I wanted to be THAT guy but i was going to need some serious help.

I needed to get my endurance where it should be and my strength up to par all while keeping my mobility and there was no way I was going to do that by myself. I was in no shape at all. I couldnt sprint half a block without feeling like I was going to keel over and die. The only weight I lifted was the cheeseburger to my mouth. Fastfood curls aside, I didnt really do anything to get myself moving, I had NO MOTIVATION!

I didn’t want to go to some gym and get super jacked on supplements and pills and have zero cardio endurance, but i couldnt just run and have awesome cardio and zero strength. I wanted to be a “super dooper paratrooper” and in order to make it I had to be a lean, mean cardio machine…

From the very first day ’till the day i shipped out to basic, Jamie and John kept me motivated to get off my ass and get to work. The positive reinforcement and overall great attitude helps to push you beyond what you think you can do. Their attention to detail on how the movements are perfomed really illustrates the passion the have for what they do. Jamie genuinely belives in what she’s doing. She isnt just helping you improve physically, shes helping you CHANGE YOUR LIFE.

CrossFit North Arlington both physically AND mentally prepared me for the rigourous demands of the Airborne Infantry. 20120830-092835.jpg

If there is one thing you can count on it’s their drive to make you the best version of yourself. The support and guidance that you will receive is unlike any other. As soon as I started I felt at home. They really make you feel like part of the family and that is part of what keeps you motivated to try harder.

Before I started, I didnt know what the hell a “deadlift” was and I thought air squats were lame – boy was I wrong about that one! I never thought i would be able to run two miles in under 16 minutes or do anything above 25 pushups in a single set. But now, thanks to the motivation and great atmosphere and support, I can run two miles in 12 minutes and 30 seconds and I can do 75 before I start to feel tired.

CrossFit helped make basic a breeze. Running up sand hills in full battle rattle wasnt going to break me. The twelve mile ruck with a 50lbs on my back in under three hours was challenging, yes. But the time I spent with Jamie and John helped me develop the mental toughness and confidence to know that I can handle anything the Army wants to throw my way. It’s hard to describe how satisfying it is to have the Drill Sergeants smoking the company and you notice they are getting pissed because you don’t look as beat down and tired as everyone else.

Anyone who knew me before CFNA would tell you, no one really expected me to make as far as I did. Hell, before becoming part of the Crossfit family, I didnt think i could either. The motivation and support that you receive, not just from the coaches, but from other CrossFitters really help you to belive in yourself. I know now what im capable of and what I can take.

The attitude you get from being part of that family is one of determination, strength and confidence. I would have never been able to make it as far as I did without everyone at CrossFit North Arlington.

If you’re wondering whether or not you should join, I advise you to try it out. I promise you it will be the best decision you make for yourself!

One Response to “Can I get a witness Wednesday?! – Andrew Lopez”

  1. Casie Says:

    I’ve always wanted to try Crossfit. My friend and I have been checking out places for it.

Leave a Reply

