No is an answer…


In every situation, there’s a good guy and a bad guy. The good guy is the one responsible for leaving you with a warm, fuzzy, happy, appreciated feeling. The bad guy is that asshole who didn’t let you do what you wanted to do when you wanted to do it.
I really really like being the good guy…who doesn’t? After all, you’re the one everyone likes! No one complains about you! No one has anything bad to say about you because hey, you’re alllllways the good guy, right? Everyone likes the good guy!

Usually, I’m *not* the good guy. Not even close. I’m the naysayer. I’m the asshole. I’m the big scary broad who won’t let you have your way. I’m the one who won’t let you have any fun, and I’m the one who shoots down superfuncoolrad ideas.

Yep.

That’s me.
I’m the asshole.

Usually these situations arise because someone wants to do something that is going to place themselves (and therefore my business…my livelihood) in danger. I’m not down with that. I know. How un-fun of me.

Here’s some perspective:

John and I see you guys training, and we’re watching what you’re doing. We know where you’ve been going and how much you’ve been pulling here regularly. Saying “No, that’s not a good idea” isn’t because we don’t like you, it’s not because we’re trying to be big meanieheads, and it’s not because we don’t want you to do something just for the sake of not doing it…we don’t want you to do it for one of two reasons A) it’s unsafe for you or B) because there’s a rule prohibiting it.

No IS an answer. Don’t take it personally.

Leave a Reply

