Add this to the No Sh!t Sherlock! category…

Refined carbs are bad.

Um.

Duh.

Eat less saturated fat: that has been the take-home message from the U.S. government for the past 30 years. But while Americans have dutifully reduced the percentage of daily calories from saturated fat since 1970, the obesity rate during that time has more than doubled, diabetes has tripled, and heart disease is still the country’s biggest killer. Now a spate of new research, including a meta-analysis of nearly two dozen studies, suggests a reason why: investigators may have picked the wrong culprit. Processed carbohydrates, which many Americans eat today in place of fat, may increase the risk of obesity, diabetes and heart disease more than fat does—a finding that has serious implications for new dietary guidelines expected this year.

I distinctly remember Stefan (I believe his name was) talking about this during the Nutrition portion of my cert. He laid out how the dietary recommendations over the past oh…FIFTY YEARS…had contributed to the American obesity epidemic, increases in diseases and pathology, and how the advice given to the general public was just wrong and was a major contributing factor to many of the ills we’re facing to day. The more I read, the more I research, the more I believe this.

I’ve been talking with a friend from highschool, and telling him (he’s Cherokee Indian, I believe, and also diabetic) that a diet consisting largely of meats and vegetables with fruits and nuts will make his life a LOT better. He resisted. LOVES his mashed potatoes. LOVES some warm bread and some oatmeal (not gonna lie…warm bread can taste *really* good). Didn’t want to give it up. I finally convinced him to just…try. For as long as he can hold out, but a minimum of 30 days, TRY to cut out the dairy and the grain. It’s been a little over two weeks, he’s down 8 lbs and feeling pretty rad. Good on him. My thing to him was…if it didn’t work, he could go back to living like he did before, no problem. Just give it a chance.

I say to the same to anyone reading this and doubting what the article is saying, what I am saying.
Just try it our way for a little bit.
If it doesn’t work…it’s not permanent. Go back.

But I bet it does. I know it will. I KNOW that if you do it right, and smart, and realistically, you’re going to be THRILLED with your results.

Leave a Reply

